I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Forest Legacy Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department of Agriculture , Forest Service
CFDA #: 10.676

Who is eligible to apply...

Projects are evaluated and prioritized by State lead agencies, in consultation with the State Forest Stewardship Coordinating Committees. All States, Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, and Guam, and other territories and possessions of the United States may be eligible.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Each State must prepare an Assessment of Need (AON). This document analyzes the need for the program and describes how the program will be implemented within the State. The FS Regional, Area, or Institute Responsible Official must concur with the State?s AON. Requirements for an eligible project are: (1) project is within an approved Forest Legacy Area and fits within the priorities of a State?s AON; (2) an approved Forest Stewardship Plan or a multi-resource management plan for the project; (3) complies with FLP State and National criteria; (4) a completed grant application; (5) an approved appraisal, meeting Federal acquisition appraisal standards as outlined in the Uniform Appraisal Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions; (6) negotiated terms of a conservation easement, if applicable; and, (7) adequate non-Federal cost share.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.